Disciples News Service


Higher Education and Leadership Ministries of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) has named Dr. Rafael Luévano, Associate Professor of Religious Studies at Chapman University, as recipient of the 2013 T.A. Abbott Award for Faculty Excellence.

HELM President Dennis Landon will present the award on March 15, 2014 on the Chapman University campus in Orange, California.

A member of the Chapman faculty since 2000, Dr. Luévano also serves as Roman Catholic Chaplain to the Chapman campus.  Previously he was Ecumenical and Interreligious Affairs Officer for the Diocese of Orange and Rector of Saint John’s Seminary College.  His most recent book is Woman-Killing in Juárez:Theodicy on the Border (Orbis Books).  Dr. Luévano’s colleagues and students affirm him as a teacher, scholar, and chaplain who inspires young people to pursue excellence in their lives in a context of faith and love for humanity.

The T.A. Abbott Award, presented now for the 30th consecutive year, was established through a gift to HELM from the descendants of the Reverend T. A. Abbott, an administrator and faculty member at Culver-Stockton College who died in 1914. Nominees must be full-time teaching faculty at Disciples-related institutions of higher education and be nominated by the institution’s chief academic officer. Criteria for selection include quality of teaching, personal example and commitment to the integration of Christian faith and learning.

Luévano is the second Chapman faculty member to receive the award; Dr. Ronald Farmer received it in 2008.

Luévano will receive an engraved plaque and a cash gift of $1,000, the latter to be used for expanding his personal library, developing new courses or continuing his education or research.

Previous T. A. Abbott Award recipients are:

2012 – Rodney Werline, Barton College

2011 – Clifton Potter, Jr., Lynchburg College

2010 – Linda Davis, William Woods University

2009 – John Hull, Bethany College

2008 – Ronald L. Farmer, Chapman University

2007 – Jan Wanack, Eureka College

2006 – James J. H. Price, Lynchburg College

2005 – Elza C. Tiner,  Lynchburg College

2004 – Edward Easterling, William Woods University

2003 –  Kathy Whitson, Eureka College

2002 – C. David Grant,  Texas Christian University

2001 – Sue R. Abegglen, Culver-Stockton College

2000 – Michael W. Santos,  Lynchburg College                                              

1999 – Edward H. Sawyer,  Culver-Stockton College

1998 – Anantha S. Babbili, Texas Christian University

1997 – Paul H. Jones, Transylvania University

1996 – Phillip H. Stump, Lynchburg College

1995 – G. Philip Points, Transylvania University

1994 – Mildred Onelle Hogstel, Texas Christian University

1993 – Bob J. Frye, Texas Christian University

1992 – John A. Sperry, Jr., Culver-Stockton College

1991 – Larry E. Grimes,  Bethany College

1990 – Samuel Thomas Niccolls, Hiram College

1989 – G. Kenneth West, Lynchburg College

1988 – Lorene Holmes, Jarvis Christian College

1987 – Kenneth T. Lawrence, Texas Christian University

1986 – John R. Scudder, Jr., Lynchburg College

1985 – Damaris Peters, Hiram College

1984 – Richard B. Kenney, Bethany College