Disciples News Service

Phillips Theological Seminary to install Pittman as fifth dean

The Rev. Dr. Nancy Claire Pittman will be installed as the fifth dean of Phillips Theological Seminary (PTS) on October 17, 2013, at the Meinders Chapel at PTS. The seminary’s installation service, which is open to the public, begins at 7:00 p.m.  Pittman will also serve as Vice President of Academic Affairs and Associate Professor of the Practice of Ministry at PTS.  She previously served as the Director of the Doctor of Ministry Program.  Pittman is a graduate of Texas Christian University, Brite Divinity School, and Southern Methodist University. Among the installation speakers will be Rev. Dr. Todd A. Adams, associate general minister & vice president of Christian Church (Disciples of Christ); Dr. Lynnwood R. Moore, Jr., chair, PTS board of trustees; Rev. Dr. Dennis E. Smith, LaDonna Cramer Meinders Professor of New Testament; Anna Hubbard, current PTS student; and Dr. Nancy Day, executive director of the Oklahoma Center for Community & Justice. Pittman succeeds Don. A. Pittman, who is the William Tabbernee Professor of the History of Religions Emeritus.

Link to story – http://ptstulsa.edu/PTStoInstallPittmanas5thDean